Getting Access Is Denied with JQuery Ajax in IE 9

I recently moved from Prototype and Scriptaculous to JQuery. The transition is not very smooth but wasn’t very painful either. Actually much of it is straightforward except for Drag and Drop. Anyway, everything was done and it worked fine in Firefox, Safari and Chrome. But not so with IE.

There is an ajax call which kept giving “Access is Denied” error with IE. Searching on the web indicated this is something to do with Cross Domain AJAX call (some reference to CORS). But in my case the call is to the same domain. I was scratching my head on what’s wrong and when I changed the minified javascript to the regular script the debugging became easy. The error was in buildFragment. So, once I started searching for the same Access Is Denied along with buildFragment, I got a link to this exact issue which actually has been fixed. The issue can be looked at here. In my case, I just downgraded from 1.8.0 to 1.7.2 and for now it’s fine. May be will upgrade in the future.

3 Comments

Filed under AJAX, JQuery

3 responses to “Getting Access Is Denied with JQuery Ajax in IE 9

  1. Thank you so much, I’ve been stuck with this issue for hours. Downgrading to 1.7.2 it’s been the only thing that has worked. Thanks…

    Daniel

  2. Oyuka

    Hi, I am using jquery 1.7.2 but still doesn’t work, in my case it is cross domain, any suggesstion would be appreciated.

    I have enabled $.support.cors = true; in my script.

    Thanks

  3. Pingback: How To Fix Ie Access Is Denied -2147024891 Errors - Windows Vista, Windows 7 & 8

Leave a Reply

