Would you edit your video on the cloud?

Man, these days everyone want to offer everything on the cloud. Is it these type of cloud companies or the economy which is making people live in rainy days? I just came across a company that’s offering media solution on the cloud. These days everyone uses Youtube for their videos. Even large corporations are happy to use it. So, why would anyone go and host their content with some small and unknown company. Well, that’s actually not my point, everyone starts small. But the big put-off for me was about the ability to edit video online, on the cloud!

Why would I want to do that? After a lot of frustration with my 4GB laptop that couldn’t even support editing simple videos, I finally had to buy a 27″ iMac with 16 GB RAM and Core i7 CPU. With that I get a smooth HD video editing experience using iMovie. Of course, iMovie doesn’t make use of multiple cores, but I believe the latest Final Cut Pro has that ability. Even as
an amateur HD video editor I can say that the CPU and I/O are the biggest bottlenecks to edit video. Now imagine doing it on the cloud over the internet. Yes, the internet speeds are spectacular these days but still I don’t think are sufficient for editing video. In fact, some video editors can’t even provide live feedback of the editing and require special rendering step.

My suggestion would be to buy a mac and use the iMovie that comes for free with iLife and get going. If the passion or the need increases, then move to Final Cut Pro. It’s a very easy and inexpensive solution (yes, SAAS seems cost effective paying monthly, but in the long run, a year or two, you will break even).

Leave a comment

Filed under iMac 27, iMovie, SAAS

Leave a Reply

