My Two Must Apps For iPad

I got iPad2 with only 16GB. So, I don’t want to put a lot of video files on it. Also, I don’t like the lot of time it takes to do the sync. I wanted a solution where I could stream my video files from a server to iPad. I found Air Video and I first tried their free version and immediately migrated to the paid version. It comes with a server component that I run on my iMac where I have control on which video folders to permit for streaming. Interestingly last few days I had trouble using the software with all kinds of connection timeouts, url resolving errors and what not. Many others reported similar issues in the forums and solutions offered but none worked for me. In the end it was a silly problem where somehow my iPad started connecting to a different wifi connection than the home wifi. After fixing that, everything is just fine.

The second app I very much need is because of the bad design of the “Photos” software that comes with iPad. The problem is that it’s so easy to delete photos with this app that we actually lost a few nice vidoes shot for our 2 yr old son. He deleted them, not once but multiple times. One of the reasons is that when we go to the “Select Photos” view, there are 3 buttons “Email”, “Copy”, “Print” and “Delete” and it defaults to “Delete”. So, it’s very easy to delete photos/videos. I wish there is an option to control the “Delete” option in the Parental Controls like they have for App installation and deletion. Because of all this, the option I have is to immediately download the photos and videos as soon as they are shot. But that’s a pain as I need to remove the wire from the dock and put it to the computer. So, I was hoping for a software that kind of did the reverse of the above software, allow downloading media from ipad to computer via browser! Yeah, and there is an app for that and it’s called “WiFi photo” and it’s free. Even though it’s called “Wifi photo”, it supports downloading both photos and video. The way it works is, when it’s started, it kind of starts a http server and gives the url to use to access it. You then have to go to a browser on another computer, enter the url and download the photos and video. Note that, while the download is happening, you shouldn’t switch to another app on the ipad.

Leave a comment

Filed under iPad

Leave a Reply

