Google Apps – eNom or GoDaddy?

I have signed up for several domains through Google Apps. And so far I have always used eNom. I don’t remember what made me pick eNom over Godaddy the very first time, but subsequently I always used eNom because I didn’t wanted to learn yet another Advanced DNS settings user interface.

But when I registered a new domain today I thought I would give GoDaddy a try just for the heck of it. That decision turned out to be a wrong one. Here is why.

Many hosting solutions these days provide unlimited domain hosting with the appropriate plan. The unlimited domain hosting will allow adding as many domains as one wants using the same account. Of course, the overall physical limits such as bandwidth, harddisk etc remain the same but these days even those are practically unlimited. So, the one resource that would become a bottleneck eventually, if you happen to turn many of those addon domains to be successful, is the CPU.

Anyway, my primary domain is hosted on a specific server of the hosting provider. Over time, this server domain will remain the same but the IP address can change. Not often, but it did happen once in the last 2yrs. Prior to this happened, I always used to specify the IP address and create the A record in the DNS settings. But one fine day, my website stopped working and it was because of the change in the IP address. From then on, I removed all the A records and created a wild CNAME record. This would allow my top level domain name to point to subdomain name of the server that hosts my website. Something like

@ xyz.hostingprovider’sdomain.com CNAME

From then on, I never had any problems. One drawback with this approach is that resolving my domain name to the physical address requires additional lookup.

Anyway, it turns out that GoDaddy doesn’t support wildcard CNAMEs. So, I had to leave a single A record with the server’s ip address.

Next time I have to pick a domain registrar with Google Apps, you know whom I would go with.

9 Comments

Filed under Google Apps

9 responses to “Google Apps – eNom or GoDaddy?

  1. Jon

    Just wanted to drop a note…A CNAME record should not carry with it any additional performance penalty so long as the TTL is set to a decent level.

  2. thanks for this..
    i am in the midst of checking out this google domain thinghy..then reach the enom or godaddy page.
    rather sceptical whether i shld go for godaddy after all the not so good stories i hear about them.

    glad i came across ur article
    now i know what to do

    thanks

  3. Ben

    Thanks for the tip. I got to remember this!

    Can you post a screenshot how the config interface looks like?

    Regards

  4. Maxim

    That is not true. GoDaddy works with CNAME wildcards in much the same way. If it hand’t GAE could not work at all.

  5. UPdrafter

    thanks for the write-up.
    sorry if it’s obvious, but I’m curious: is your problem is caused by having 2 different hosts, or simply the services offered by godaddy are the problem.

  6. thanks for the tip..

    i was in the dilemma whether to continue with enom or shift to godaddy.

  7. zooFu8Ai

    No dillema, Go Daddy’s interface is really cumbersome. It was made that way intentionally, to let you make mistakes and purchase services you didn’t actually want in the first place.

  8. Pingback: Google Apps Hosting Godaddy – +ADw-/title+AD4-Hacked By TURKHACKTEAM.ORG Putin, knowingly and willfully planned airplane attack and the citizen on death. This has caused you to be you're a traitor. Now the citizens of nationalist feelings of the Rus

Leave a Reply

